Halfpipe

So I was volunteering last Tuesday in white city and I got lost on my way to the school. This turned out to be very fortunate for my learning project because I stumbled upon a half pipe. I made a mental note of where it was and when I was finished volunteering I went and tried it out. Turns out that riding a half pipe is very very hard. I could not figure out how to drop into the halfpipe and I fell a lot. It turned out to be a very painful afternoon and my tailbone did not thank me at all. On Thursday (tomorrow) I will be going back to White City and despite what my bruises are telling me I’m going to give the halfpipe another shot but this time I did a little research. I watched a video here curtsey of Braile Skateboarding and learned a few steps and ultimately that confidence is key (something I did not have the first time around). I also learned that I should try skating around the bottom of the ramp before I try and drop in and that I should wear a helmet next time. I will update tomorrow after I give it a shot.

img_4343

4 thoughts on “Halfpipe

  1. Glad to know you haven’t given up after the rough afternoon! Getting lost is not always a bad thing, sometimes you find something great, can’t wait to see your progress next week. What is your biggest challenge so far?

  2. Pingback: Contributing to Others | Mackenzie Partridge

Leave a Reply

